This Week: Zach Johnson and Brad Fritsch

2.17.2014

Opening Thought – About this “Ready Golf”.

Last year while playing a fun round at the Lonnie Poole Golf course on Centennial campus at North Carolina State with LPGA player Sophia Sheridan, she was asked by a playing partner of mine what her biggest golf pet peeve was and she said “extremely slow play”. Slow play is one thing, but extremely slow play is another she said. She mentioned once in a tournament she waited for twenty-one minutes to tee off for three consecutive holes. That’s three holes in one hour. In speaking with myself, I said to myself, I dislike slow play also but what I really dislike…is “ready golf”, which is designed to eliminate slow play.

Slow play

Ready golf is just a ploy to speed up play for the hosting course so they can squeeze in more greens and cart fees and that’s fine but that’s not golf. If you want to play ready golf, go find a par three course or a jungle golf in Myrtle Beach. I’ve just birdied number eleven and I have honors so I will tee off first, not somebody who got to the tee box first. I will get there after I finish basking in my glory which will be whenever I want.

You must bow down to the almighty birdie.

You play in order of distance from the cup, the furthest away plays first, not the guy that got to his ball first because he told his wife he’d be back by four. Ready golf is rushing golf and you’re crazy if you think rushing golf is good golf. I want to take my time and think about each shot-I want to enjoy the game, not rush through it. Further, I enjoy other players who think through their shots because it gives me more time to think about mine. And even furtherer, I do not mind a four and half hour round of golf, or even four hours forty-five minutes. Ready golf is just plain awful.

-Back 9 Boys producer Bob “The Blade” Robinson

Now let’s move on to this weeks show with host Rich Styles featuring PGA Tour players Zach Johnson and Brad Fritsch

zach johnson brad fritsch

Leave a comment